Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

image

As a person who loves sewing and thrifting I have developed an alterations pile in my sewing box. (an alterations pile is basically a backlog of clothes which I found while thrifting and I thought had potential to be altered into something more my style) 

Last night I made the first step to reducing said backlog.

image

This was originally a plain vest shirt thing with an ugly belt around the waist. It was also slightly too big. I took it in a bit, unpicked the belt loops and used some wide lace to create the collar and sleeves.

image

I’m actually really pleased with how it turned out. The lace makes it much more me.

image

One last thing. The picture above is the first sketch of what will hopefully be my first collection. I’ve been thinking a lot about how my sewing and pattern making is progressing, so I’ve decided to take the first step (telling the internet so it will keep me accountable) towards making it a thing.

Edit: I had another thought and didn’t want to leave it in case I forgot! I’ve been looking for a subculture name to describe my look for about 5 or 6 years. Anyway, I finally found one! The term is otome kei.! 😀

